Poetry: THIS IS NOT A POEM ABOUT SUICIDE –Matthew Dinaro

THIS IS NOT A POEM ABOUT SUICIDE

I had a dream
I was hanging out
with Sylvia Plath,
she was dressed
like a bobby soxer,
and I was trying
to convince her
not to put her
head in the oven,
“Think of the kids,”
I said, and she said,
“I am,” and I said,
“Well think of the
vaginal symbolism
of the oven, isn’t
it a bit tacky?”
And she said,
“Matthew,
you know,
suicide is not
an act of poetry.”
I said she ought
to write a poem
about that,
and she said,
“You do it,
I don’t have time,”
and around then
I woke up.

Matthew Dinaro lives in Portland, Oregon, his writing has been featured in Electric Cereal, McSweeney’s Internet Tendency, Potluck, and Voicemail Poems. He misses his dog… 

Leave a Reply

