Poetry: Folk Music in America –Joe Lennon

Folk Music in America

It kills my feet to walk. I choose to kill
my tongue instead and talk.
In the sand dune room in the movie Stalker, a hawk
gets halfway across

what makes me watch
its cheap, technical goneness again.
The same exact hawk
alights this time. A consolation for knowing

my eyes may not get there with me.

Joe Lennon was born in Illinois and raised in Georgia and North Carolina. He now lives in Denver and sometimes teaches poetry to 3rd graders. You can read his work and many others’ at the Denver Poetry Map –www.denverpoetrymap.net

One thought on “Poetry: Folk Music in America –Joe Lennon

Leave a Reply

